Dalannah & 2014

Welcome to my website for 2014

I, first, want to send my appreciation to all those who listened to, friended, loved, hugged, played with, supported and bought my music in 2013. It was quite a year and to be honest so satisfying that it brought me much joy.  I have no regrets with the way things unfolded and the opportunities that I had.

In this new year, the focus..musically.. is on a new cd and expanding our horizons….if anyone out there is listening…we…my great band and I….deliver a great show of authentic female blues in the tradition of  Koko Taylor, Bonnie Raitt with “a touch of Memphis Minnie on the side” Vancouver Folk Festival.

I really would like to get to Europe and the United States so..I am putting it out there.

My other hat…living in service has brought me to begin a new initiative for sector of the community population. Seniors make  up 53% of the downtown eastside community in Vancouver and we are witnessing a hidden crisis. I have begun the Downtown Eastside Elders Resource Sanctuary which will provide much-needed programming and opportunity for this often ignored group who have a wealth of knowledge to share.

I also have returned to the board of the grass-roots arts organization that I started five years ago; the Downtown Eastside Centre for the Arts  with an exciting new plan that will be revealed in the very near future.

If anyone would like more information about either of these projects or would like to donate funds in general or to sponsor a specific program, please feel free to contact me at dalannahbowen@gmail.com. Any donation over $50.00 will receive a tax receipt.

The following is my calendar to date.

2014 CALENDAR

FEB 5   HOMEGROUND FESTIVAL    BLUE LOVE WITH MICHAEL CREBER  5:30 OPPENHEIMER PARK

FEB 12 BLACK HISTORY MONTH/SONGS OF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT  7:00P.M.

FEB 15 BLACK HISTORY MONTH/SONGS OF THE CIVIL RIGHTS MOVEMENT  7:00 SFU/WOODWARDS

FEB 21 BLACK HISTORY MONTH/SPEAKING OF FREEDOM ST/ ANDREWS’ WESLEY CHURCH  7:30

APRIL 13 SISTERS OF SOUL   KAY MEEK THEATRE  8:00 p.m.

 

Hope to see some of you at one of these performances. I wish you a year filled with opportunity and joy.

in peace,  Dalannah Gail Bowen

Published in: on January 20, 2014 at 10:00 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://dalannahgailbowen.wordpress.com/2014/01/20/dalannah-2014/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment